Your Flu Shot Timing Might Be Off This Year, Here’s What Changed

Flu shots are already starting to appear in pharmacies and clinics across the U.S. this fall, but the federal message on when to get one is more specific this year. For the 2026-27 season, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention said on September 1 that earlier recommendations from the July 2025 immunization schedule remain in effect, and that means many people may want to wait longer than they have in some past years.

CDC says most people should aim for September or October

The CDC, in interim clinical considerations dated September 1, 2026, said flu vaccination should still be offered routinely for everyone 6 months and older, but it added a clear timing message for the 2026-27 season: vaccination in July and August is not recommended for most groups because protection can wane over the course of the flu season. The agency said September and October remain the preferred months for most people to get vaccinated, even when doses are available earlier.

That timing guidance is not universal. According to the CDC, children ages 6 months through 8 years who need two doses should get the first shot as soon as possible, including in July or August if vaccine is available, so the second dose can be given at least four weeks later and ideally by the end of October. The CDC also said vaccination in July or August can be considered for children who need only one dose if there may not be another opportunity later.

Pregnancy guidance is also more nuanced. The CDC said flu vaccination can be given during any trimester, but vaccination during July and August can be considered during the third trimester because it may help protect newborns during their first months of life. For most adults, especially those 65 and older, and for people in the first or second trimester of pregnancy, the agency said July and August vaccination generally should be avoided unless later vaccination may not be possible.

What this means in the U.S. right now, and what is still unclear locally

For readers in the United States, the immediate practical impact is that the first flu shot appointment on the calendar may not be the best one for every household. Pharmacies, doctors’ offices and health systems may begin offering vaccine before Labor Day, but CDC guidance does not say everyone should rush in as soon as supply arrives. Instead, the federal recommendation now leans more heavily on matching shot timing to when protection is most likely to be needed.

What is confirmed nationally is that the CDC’s 2026-27 clinical considerations are in effect and still rely on the July 2025 immunization schedule because, as the agency put it, there are legal uncertainties and related inquiries surrounding newer processes. The agency also said all currently available seasonal flu vaccines in the U.S. are trivalent, meaning they target two influenza A strains and one influenza B/Victoria strain.

What is not yet known on a local level is exactly how every pharmacy chain, hospital system or public health department will message timing to patients in each market. Providers may continue to advertise early availability, and the CDC guidance allows flexibility when there is concern that a patient might miss vaccination later. That means local scheduling practices could vary even while the national recommendation stays the same.

Why the advice changed, and what customers should expect next

The main reason for the timing shift is concern about waning protection. In its September 1 guidance, the CDC cited evidence that vaccine-induced immunity can decline during a single season, particularly among older adults, which is why the agency said most people should avoid getting vaccinated too early if they can return in September or October instead. That explanation is rooted in multiple studies the CDC lists in its guidance and in prior seasonal recommendations published in MMWR.

The current message also arrives amid unusual policy turbulence. The CDC said the 2026-27 flu recommendations still default to the July 2025 immunization schedule because of legal uncertainties and inquiries, while the Associated Press reported this month that several major U.S. medical groups issued their own fall vaccine guidance in part to reduce confusion around changing federal vaccine advice. That broader backdrop helps explain why timing recommendations are getting closer public attention this season.

For customers and patients, the takeaway is narrower than the broader vaccine debate. Most people should expect providers to continue offering flu shots throughout the fall, with September and October presented as the preferred window for one-dose recipients, while some children and some pregnant patients may be advised not to wait. The CDC also continues to say vaccination later in the season can still be beneficial if a person misses that earlier fall window.

This Walmart Pasta Just Got Recalled, Check Your Freezer Now

Walmart

Food recalls continue to shape grocery shopping nationwide, especially as retailers and regulators move quickly when testing flags potential contamination. That is now the case for a Walmart-exclusive frozen pasta product sold under the bettergoods label. The recall centers on bettergoods Authentic Italian Lemon Alfredo Fettuccine, a freezer item distributed to Walmart stores across the country.

Gias Foods recalled two lots of Walmart’s bettergoods frozen pasta

Gias Foods of New York, New York, initiated the recall on September 15, 2026, for two lots of bettergoods Authentic Italian Lemon Alfredo Fettuccine, according to the FDA recall notice posted September 22 and the FDA recalls database. The product was recalled because it has the potential to be contaminated with Listeria monocytogenes, and the FDA listing identifies it under a foodborne-illness recall for the Bettergoods brand. As of the company notice, no illnesses had been reported.

The recalled product is a 22-ounce frozen pasta entrée packaged in yellow plastic and sold as bettergoods Authentic Italian Lemon Alfredo Fettuccine. The UPC listed in the FDA notice is 194346442706. The affected lots are L6079C and L6080C, with expiration dates of September 19, 2027, and September 20, 2027, stamped on the back of the package.

The FDA notice says the product was distributed nationwide at Walmart Inc. stores. Walmart’s recall page also lists the item among food recalls and states that the company works to block recalled products from sale and remove them from stores. The official recall number was not publicly listed in the FDA consumer-facing notice reviewed for this article, and an FDA hazard classification was not stated there.

The recall reached Walmart stores nationwide, but a state-by-state store list has not been released

What is confirmed is broad distribution: the recalled frozen pasta was sold nationwide at Walmart stores, meaning it could have reached stores in Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin and Wyoming, as well as Washington, D.C.

Neither the FDA notice nor Walmart’s recall posting released a comprehensive list of specific affected cities, store addresses, or state-by-state shipment counts. The company also has not published a full list of affected local Walmart locations. That means shoppers can confirm the product only by matching the item name, package size, UPC, lot code, and expiration date against what is in their freezer.

The public reporting so far indicates the recall applies to store distribution rather than a narrower regional footprint. Because the product was described by the FDA as distributed nationwide, no state has been identified as uniquely affected or exempt.

State testing prompted the recall, and the product has been pulled from distribution

The recall was triggered after routine sampling by the Washington State Department of Agriculture and the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services found that the finished product may contain Listeria monocytogenes, according to reporting that cited the company announcement and FDA posting. Gias Foods said distribution of the product has been discontinued while the company and the FDA continue investigating the source of the issue.

For customers, the practical guidance is specific to this recall. The FDA notice identifies only bettergoods Authentic Italian Lemon Alfredo Fettuccine in the 22-ounce package with UPC 194346442706, lot codes L6079C or L6080C, and expiration dates September 19, 2027, or September 20, 2027. Consumer Reports and local television reporting, citing the recall instructions, said customers should return the recalled product to the place of purchase for a full refund or discard it.

Walmart said on its recalls page that it works swiftly to remove recalled items from stores, while outside reporting cited the retailer as telling customers who have the product to discontinue use and follow the recall instructions. As of September 25, 2026, the recall remains part of the active FDA recalls listings and no illnesses had been reported in the company notice.

SNAP Enrollment Is Rising in One State and Falling in Another, and They’re Neighbors

SNAP participation has been falling nationally for much of 2026, according to the latest USDA data and analyses built from those figures. In the central Midwest, however, neighboring states are not moving in lockstep: Iowa has continued to lose participants while Nebraska has recorded growth, creating one of the region’s clearest side-by-side splits. The divergence comes as states absorb major federal SNAP policy changes and implement their own eligibility and purchasing rules.

The latest data show a clear split between neighboring states

The most recent turning point in this story is the September 22, 2026 revision that the Food Research & Action Center said it made to its SNAP Participation Dashboard after USDA adjusted earlier state participation figures. FRAC said the revised dashboard reflects the latest available USDA state data through June 2026, and that national SNAP participation fell by 332,308 people from May to June, leaving 36,352,716 participants nationwide in June.

Within that broader decline, Iowa remained on a downward track. FRAC said Iowa had 261,142 SNAP participants in January 2025 and 252,435 in December 2025, a drop of 8,707 people, or 3 percent. USDA’s Food and Nutrition Administration separately lists Iowa among the states that launched the National Accuracy Clearinghouse on February 5, 2024, a federal data-matching system designed to prevent duplicate participation across state lines.

Nebraska, by contrast, has been identified in 2026 advocacy and policy tracking as one of the states adding recipients rather than losing them. The exact month-by-month federal table behind Nebraska’s latest increase is not fully reproduced in the public summaries reviewed here, but FRAC’s 2026 dashboard materials and related policy analyses describe a smaller group of states moving against the national trend while many others continue to contract.

Iowa’s decline is documented, while the full Nebraska picture is less detailed publicly

For Iowa readers, the confirmed state-level picture is more complete than the neighboring comparison. FRAC’s state-by-state participation materials and USDA-backed data summaries show Iowa ending 2025 below its January level, and USDA’s historical SNAP State Activity Report shows Iowa averaged 262,613 monthly participants in fiscal 2023, providing a recent baseline before the sharper national retrenchment of 2025 and 2026.

What is not yet public in the materials reviewed is a comprehensive federal narrative explaining exactly which Nebraska counties or local offices are driving that state’s increase. The public dashboard summaries identify the broader contrast, but they do not release a county-by-county list tied to this specific neighboring-state comparison. That means it is possible to confirm the directional split, but not to map every local pocket of growth from the documents examined.

The regional context matters because nearby Midwestern states are otherwise seeing sizable declines. FRAC reported that Illinois has posted one of the country’s steepest percentage drops since July 2025, and Indiana has also been among the states with declines between 15 percent and 20 percent over that span. That makes the Iowa-Nebraska contrast stand out even more in a part of the country where contraction has been common.

Federal policy shifts and state rules are shaping who stays on SNAP

Several documented policy changes help explain why neighboring states can now post different results. FRAC attributes much of the national drop since mid-2025 to H.R. 1, the budget reconciliation law enacted in July 2025, saying the decline accelerated after that measure took effect. USDA’s implementation memo on the law says it reduced the federal share of SNAP state administrative costs from 50 percent to 25 percent beginning in fiscal year 2027, adding pressure on state systems even before that deadline fully arrives.

USDA guidance and rulemaking in 2026 also point to a heavier administrative environment. Federal notices published this year show expanded or revised quality-control and negative case action review requirements, while USDA’s National Accuracy Clearinghouse continues rolling out across states to catch duplicate benefits. Those changes are intended to strengthen program integrity, but they also increase casework and review burdens for state agencies.

State choices differ as well. USDA’s June 2026 broad-based categorical eligibility table shows Iowa using a 160 percent gross income threshold with no asset limit, while neighboring states operate under different thresholds and administrative structures. For households, the practical takeaway is straightforward: eligibility and continued enrollment increasingly depend not only on need, but also on how each state administers federal rules, and USDA’s June 2026 data show that those differences are now producing visibly different outcomes across neighboring borders.

The Cyclospora Outbreak Is Contained, but One Big Question Remains

Cyclospora

Federal food safety officials have now closed the largest Cyclospora outbreak linked to a single product in recent U.S. reporting, ending the immediate public health emergency tied to a summer produce recall. The outbreak centered on iceberg lettuce sourced from central Mexico by Taylor Farms de Mexico, with the FDA and CDC saying on September 11, 2026, that the outbreak had ended even as the broader investigation continued. The unresolved issue is no longer whether the outbreak is active, but how contamination entered the supply chain in the first place.

Federal agencies say the outbreak is over, but the recall remains a landmark case

The FDA stated on September 11 that the multistate Cyclospora outbreak linked to iceberg lettuce from Taylor Farms de Mexico had ended, with the final outbreak total reaching 12,883 illnesses, 570 hospitalizations and two deaths across 21 states. According to the FDA’s outbreak page, most illnesses began before Taylor Farms de Mexico initiated its voluntary recall on July 17, 2026, after federal traceback efforts converged on the supplier.

The company’s July 17 recall covered iceberg lettuce sourced from central Mexico and included retail Marketside Iceberg Salad in 12-ounce and 24-ounce sizes and Marketside Shredded Lettuce in 8-ounce and 16-ounce sizes, all with Best if Used By dates from July 18, 2026, through August 3, 2026, according to the company announcement posted by the FDA. The notice also listed foodservice products under the CV, JB, MARK, PK, SUB, SY and TF labels, including chopped, shredded and salad-mix formats in 4/5-pound and 4/4-pound packs.

The FDA later said the recall was classified as Class I, the agency’s highest risk category, and said that classification reflected a reasonable probability that use of the product could cause serious adverse health consequences or death. The FDA also said on August 28 that the July 17 recall notice itself had not changed, and that the Best if Used By dates had passed.

Distribution was broad, but some location-level details were never made public

Taylor Fresh Foods said the recalled shredded iceberg product was distributed from June 29 through July 16 in Alabama, Arkansas, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Iowa, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Maryland, Michigan, Missouri, Mississippi, North Carolina, New Hampshire, New Jersey, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia and Wisconsin. FDA outbreak materials later said distribution of recalled products was confirmed in Alabama, Arkansas, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Iowa, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Missouri, Mississippi, North Carolina, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, Wisconsin and West Virginia.

That difference matters because the public record shows product movement outpaced the initial company distribution list as the investigation developed. The outbreak record also says cases were ultimately reported in 21 states, and that one of the late additions to the illness count was Virginia. Federal officials also said some people included in the outbreak reported eating at Taco Bell before becoming sick.

What remains unconfirmed is a complete public list of every restaurant, distributor or store location affected at the local level. The company did not release a comprehensive city-by-city or store-by-store list for all foodservice distribution points, though it did say consumers who bought recalled product should discard it immediately, not consume it, and seek a full refund at the place of purchase.

The central question now is how the contamination happened

The FDA has been explicit that the outbreak’s active phase is over but the cause investigation is not. In its post-outbreak update, the agency said it is continuing to investigate the outbreak linked to Taylor Farms de Mexico and the root cause of the contamination, while also folding lessons from the case into its Cyclospora Prevention, Response and Research Action Plan and broader U.S.-Mexico food safety work.

Federal officials have also described why Cyclospora cases are difficult to solve quickly. In a CDC briefing in July, officials said linking sick people to a specific product can be slow because the parasite does not yet have the same whole genome sequencing tools commonly used in bacterial outbreak work, making epidemiology and traceback especially important. FDA has also said onsite inspections and sample collection at growers and the processing facility in Mexico were completed, with some samples still pending analysis as of the final outbreak update.

For consumers, the immediate practical change is that FDA says it is confident the recalled lettuce tied to this outbreak is no longer on the market. The bigger implication for the produce industry is that one of the largest Cyclospora investigations on record has shifted from emergency response to prevention, with federal officials saying future updates will focus on what investigators learn about the source and how similar outbreaks might be prevented.

This Tribal Pale Ale Is Brewing More Than Just Beer, It’s Raising Awareness for MMIW

As breweries across the U.S. continue tying limited releases to social causes, tribally owned producers are increasingly using craft beer to connect cultural identity with public awareness campaigns. In Rochester, Washington, Talking Cedar Brewery has tied a new beer release directly to the crisis of Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women, or MMIW. The brewery’s latest launch puts a regional craft product into a broader conversation about violence against Indigenous women and the gaps in public awareness around that issue.

Talking Cedar’s release pairs a beer launch with a verified fundraising effort

Talking Cedar Brewery, which is owned and operated by the Chehalis Tribe, announced on August 24 that it had released MMIW Tribal Pale Ale, a limited-edition beer created to raise awareness for Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women, according to Sip Magazine’s report on the launch. The brewery said the beer is packaged in 4-packs of 16-ounce cans, carries a 6.5% ABV, and has a suggested retail price of $12.99. The cans are marked with the phrase “Brewed for Justice, Brewed for Our Sisters,” and the brewery said a portion of proceeds from every can sold will support the Urban Indian Health Institute.

The artwork on the can was created by Ryan Burnett, a member of the Chehalis Tribe, according to the same report. Sip Magazine said Burnett’s design uses the red hand symbol that is widely associated with the MMIW movement. Talking Cedar’s marketing director, Jackie Dodd-Mallory, said the brewery viewed the beer as a way to bring the issue to audiences that may not otherwise encounter it through routine news coverage or advocacy work.

The release also defines the product as part of the brewery’s own “Tribal Pale Ale” style positioning. Ryan Myhre, Talking Cedar’s director of brewing and distilling operations, said the beer was built around Pacific Northwest pale ale flavors, including pine and citrus notes, while also tying the product to tribal land and water sourced from the Chehalis Tribe’s aquifer.

The launch is centered in Rochester, with sales confirmed across three Northwest states

The local center of the release is Rochester in Thurston County, where Talking Cedar brews the beer at its Washington facility, according to Sip Magazine. That gives the launch a specific place-based connection in southwest Washington rather than a generic regional rollout. The brewery has confirmed that the limited-edition beer is currently available in Washington, Oregon, and Idaho.

What has been confirmed publicly is the three-state sales footprint, the package format, and the beneficiary organization. What has not been publicly detailed is how many retailers in Washington are carrying the beer, how many total cases were produced, or which cities outside Rochester have received shipments. The company has not released a comprehensive list of affected stores or accounts in Washington, Oregon, or Idaho.

The beneficiary named in the launch, the Urban Indian Health Institute, is based in Seattle as the research division of Seattle Indian Health Board, according to UIHI and Seattle Indian Health Board materials. That means both the production site and the nonprofit connection are rooted in Washington state, giving the release an in-state public health and advocacy dimension beyond its beer branding.

The broader context is an ongoing Indigenous public health and safety crisis

Talking Cedar tied the beer to a cause that has been documented for years by Indigenous-led researchers and federal agencies. The Urban Indian Health Institute’s MMIWG work found 506 cases of missing and murdered Indigenous women and girls across 71 selected U.S. cities from 2010 to 2018, according to CDC materials summarizing the report and Department of the Interior background on the crisis. Federal and Indigenous health sources have also pointed to persistent data gaps, racial misclassification, and undercounting as barriers to understanding the full scope of the issue.

Broader violence data also helps explain why advocacy campaigns like this one are emerging in consumer spaces. A CDC fact sheet says American Indian and Alaska Native people experience high rates of homicide, and that about 58% of American Indian and Alaska Native women have experienced sexual violence, physical violence, or stalking by an intimate partner in their lifetimes. Those figures are part of the reason the MMIW crisis has drawn response from tribes, public health researchers, and federal agencies.

For customers in the Pacific Northwest, the practical takeaway is straightforward: this is a limited-edition release now on sale in three states, with part of each purchase designated for UIHI’s work. Talking Cedar has not announced how long the beer will remain on shelves, but it has stated that the release is intended to pair awareness with direct support for Indigenous-led research and advocacy on MMIW.

Shoppers Say These Costco Dips Are Worth Every Penny

Food concession stand at the Costco warehouse in Overland Park, Kansas

Bulk grocery shopping continues to push prepared foods into the spotlight as shoppers look for products that balance convenience, portion size, and price. At Costco, that conversation has recently centered on refrigerated dips that shoppers and food editors have repeatedly identified as standout purchases. Recent brand-posted media roundups and Costco product listings point to a short list of tubs and spreads that members say deliver enough flavor and volume to justify the warehouse price.

Costco’s most-mentioned dip picks have emerged from recent rankings

The clearest recent benchmark came on January 14, 2026, when La Terra Fina highlighted a Sporked taste test that named its Artichoke & Jalapeño Dip & Spread the top Costco dip, according to the company’s press page. In that roundup, the product was described as the number one dip among the Costco varieties the outlet tested, giving it a defined place in the current conversation around warehouse prepared foods.

Another recent signal came from Good Foods, which reposted a media roundup under the headline “Costco Shoppers Swear by These 7 Crowd-Pleasing Dips.” On that page, the company pointed specifically to its Buffalo Style Chicken Dip as a ready-made option for shoppers seeking a game-day style dip without cooking, and it identified the container sold through Costco as a 24-ounce product.

La Terra Fina has also highlighted separate media attention for its Cranberry & Jalapeño Dip & Spread and its Artichoke & Jalapeño Dip & Spread. In a December 17, 2025 post reproducing coverage from Good Housekeeping, the company said both dips were among the best varieties to buy at Costco. That adds a second recent editorial mention for the artichoke-jalapeño flavor profile and another notable nod for the cranberry-jalapeño option.

The products drawing the most attention are refrigerated, shareable, and sold in large formats

What is confirmed from the available source material is that these recommendations center on refrigerated deli-case dips sold in larger tubs than standard supermarket packages. Good Foods’ reposted roundup said many Costco dips weigh more than 24 ounces, while its featured Buffalo Style Chicken Dip was identified as a 24-ounce container available through Costco’s same-day shopping platform.

Costco’s business delivery deli listings also show the retailer carrying large-format dip products tied to the same shopper conversation. Among the examples visible in those listings are Rojo’s Street Corn Dip in a 32-ounce container and La Terra Fina Artichoke & Jalapeño Dip & Spread sold as two 17-ounce tubs. Those sizes help explain why these items are frequently discussed as party foods and group snacks rather than single-meal purchases.

What is not fully known from the public materials reviewed is how broadly each dip is stocked across specific Costco warehouses in the United States. Costco’s assortment can vary by region and season, and the company has not released a nationwide store-by-store list for these featured dips in the source material reviewed here. That means availability may differ depending on location even when an item is actively sold through Costco channels.

Why these dips keep surfacing in shopper and media coverage

The broader context is straightforward: prepared dips solve the labor problem for shoppers who want hosting food without spending time cooking. Good Foods’ reposted media coverage made that point directly by contrasting homemade party spreads with ready-made alternatives from Costco, especially for occasions when customers need something that can be served hot or cold with little extra prep.

Flavor familiarity also appears to be part of the appeal. Buffalo chicken, spinach-artichoke, street corn, and jalapeño-cream-cheese combinations are already well-established grocery categories, and the recent media mentions focused less on novelty than on execution. In La Terra Fina’s reposted press coverage, editors emphasized texture, tang, heat level, and versatility, including use as a dip or spread.

For Costco shoppers, the practical takeaway is that the dips getting the strongest recent attention are the ones that combine warehouse sizing with recognizable flavors and minimal preparation. Based on the latest verified mentions, La Terra Fina’s Artichoke & Jalapeño Dip & Spread stands out as the most explicitly ranked favorite, while Good Foods Buffalo Style Chicken Dip and La Terra Fina Cranberry & Jalapeño Dip & Spread continue to draw repeat editorial attention. Costco has not indicated any broader change to its deli dip assortment in the reviewed materials, but these products remain among the most visible current favorites.

Why the GLP-1 Boom Is Suddenly Showing Up on College Campuses

GLP-1 drugs moved from a niche diabetes treatment to a fast-growing weight-loss business as insurers, telehealth firms and food operators adjusted to rising demand across the U.S. On college campuses, that shift is now showing up in student health visits, dining conversations and wellness planning as institutions respond to a generation encountering Wegovy, Zepbound and compounded alternatives earlier than many administrators expected. The change is not tied to one school or one state, but recent reporting and research show campuses are now intersecting with the same forces reshaping the broader health and food economy.

Telehealth access is bringing the GLP-1 surge closer to students

A key recent event came on July 6, 2026, when JAMA published a Yale-led secret-shopper study showing how widely GLP-1 prescriptions were available online. According to the study and Yale School of Medicine, researchers approached 49 websites and 45 issued a prescription, while 34 mailed medication, often with limited direct clinician interaction. That scale matters for college-age adults, who are already heavy users of app-based care and same-day digital services.

The study found only a minority of sites required a live video or phone encounter before prescribing, according to Yale and coverage by The Washington Post and AP. Researchers said the growth of online GLP-1 prescribing was driven in part by telehealth platforms paired with compounding pharmacies, a model that lowered friction for patients seeking treatment. For students living away from home, managing busy schedules and navigating fragmented insurance coverage, that kind of access can fit the way they already seek care.

What is not yet known is how many college students are getting these drugs through campus clinics rather than outside telehealth companies. Schools generally have not released campus-by-campus counts, and there is no national public database breaking GLP-1 use out specifically for enrolled college students. But the prescribing environment has become easier to enter just as awareness of the drugs has become widespread among young adults.

Campuses are seeing the effects in health services, dining and wellness planning

The campus impact is emerging less through public tallies than through the kinds of services colleges are building around student health. University job postings and campus program announcements show some schools expanding obesity medicine, nutrition counseling and performance-focused dining support. At the University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus, a June 22, 2026 posting for a patient services role described a growing weight management clinic that uses medical, dietitian and psychology support for patients with overweight or obesity.

Dining operations are also moving closer to medication-aware nutrition. Carnegie Mellon University announced on April 30, 2026 that its dining partnership with Chartwells Higher Education was bringing performance nutrition programming directly into the campus food environment, including protein-focused menu education. Outside higher education, restaurants in places like Philadelphia and New Haven have already begun testing smaller, protein-forward meals for GLP-1 users, a food trend that could influence campus dining as student demand changes.

What remains unconfirmed is how many colleges are formally offering GLP-1-specific guidance to students. Many campuses provide general nutrition support, but schools have not broadly published lists of GLP-1 protocols, special meal plans or medication-related dining accommodations. For students, the practical reality is that support may be available through existing nutrition, counseling or primary care channels rather than through programs labeled specifically for GLP-1 use.

The bigger driver is a collision of obesity care, body-image pressure and campus mental health

The broader context is that these drugs became more available just as colleges were already dealing with high levels of body-image and mental health strain. Novo Nordisk announced FDA approval of Wegovy for adolescents ages 12 and older on December 23, 2022, and the FDA approved Lilly’s Zepbound for chronic weight management in adults on November 8, 2023. Those approvals expanded the pool of young people arriving on campus already familiar with the drugs or eligible to seek them.

At the same time, research tied to the Healthy Minds Study has shown rising eating-disorder risk among college students. A 2022 paper based on Healthy Minds data found probable eating-disorder risk increased from 15% to 28% between 2013 and 2021, and Inside Higher Ed has reported that campus treatment teams are increasingly focused on those pressures. That means colleges are confronting GLP-1 use in an environment where weight, food access, appearance and mental health are already closely linked.

For students and families, the near-term takeaway is not that every campus now has a dedicated GLP-1 program. It is that student health centers, counseling units and dining teams are more likely to encounter questions about appetite changes, protein intake, side effects and body-image concerns as use spreads. The national market is still moving faster than many campus systems, but the overlap between obesity medicine and student wellness is now firmly part of the college health landscape.

Google Search Data Just Revealed America’s Most Popular Coffee Chain

Starbucks

Coffee chains remain one of the most competitive segments in the U.S. restaurant business, with national giants and regional brands all vying for daily traffic. New Google search data now points to Starbucks as the chain drawing the broadest share of online interest across the country.

Starbucks led the new Google search ranking

Starbucks was identified as the most popular coffee chain in the country in a new analysis published September 21, 2026, based on Google Trends search data. According to Innerbody’s analysis, as reported by AOL, Starbucks ranked as the most-searched coffee chain in 21 states and Washington, D.C., giving it the widest reach of any brand in the study. The report compared search activity for 15 major coffee chains, including menu-related and nearby-location searches.

Dunkin’ finished behind Starbucks in geographic reach but still led a significant cluster of states. AOL, citing the same Innerbody analysis, reported that Dunkin’ was the top-searched chain in 10 states, particularly across the Northeast and Mid-Atlantic. The article specifically named New York, Massachusetts, and Pennsylvania among Dunkin’s strongest states.

The broader market context also supports Starbucks’ standing. In YouGov’s U.S. restaurant brand rankings for 2026, Starbucks ranked first among specialty dining brands for consumer consideration at 31.3%, just ahead of Dunkin’ at 31.1%. The same YouGov report also ranked Starbucks first for best-tasting coffee at 22.9%, with Dunkin’ second at 14.4%.

Search results showed strong regional pockets

While Starbucks had the broadest national footprint in the search data, the state-by-state breakdown showed the U.S. coffee market remains highly regional. According to AOL’s report on the Innerbody analysis, 7 Brew was the most-searched chain in six states: Arkansas, Missouri, Oklahoma, Mississippi, Alabama, and Kentucky. That result put the Arkansas-founded chain behind only Starbucks and Dunkin’ in total states led.

The same report said other regional brands topped search activity in individual home-market states. Philz Coffee led in California, reflecting the continued strength of locally rooted chains even as national brands dominate overall awareness. AOL also reported that Caribou Coffee and other smaller chains surfaced as state leaders elsewhere, though the full state-by-state list was not detailed in the article.

What is not yet clear from the publicly summarized findings is the complete ranking for every state or the exact search volumes behind each winner. Innerbody’s methodology, as summarized by AOL, focused on comparative Google search interest rather than sales, transactions, or store counts. That means the results measure online attention, not necessarily market share or customer visits.

The data reflects a changing coffee market

The search ranking arrives as Starbucks remains the country’s dominant coffee chain by multiple measures, even as competition increases. Associated Press reported earlier this year that Starbucks’ share of spending at U.S. coffee shops fell to 48% in 2024 and 2025, down from 52% in 2023, according to Technomic. The same report said Dunkin’ gained market share during that period and had just opened its 10,000th U.S. store.

That competitive backdrop helps explain why search interest is fragmenting across more brands. Consumers now have more drive-thru, specialty, and regional options than they did a decade ago, and newer concepts such as 7 Brew and Dutch Bros have expanded quickly in parts of the South and West. Even so, Starbucks continues to hold a leading national position in both awareness and consideration, according to YouGov’s 2026 data.

For customers, the takeaway is straightforward: Starbucks still commands the broadest national attention online, but the coffee landscape is far from uniform. Search behavior suggests local loyalty remains strong in many states, and national leadership does not erase regional competition. The latest data adds another indicator to a market where search interest, brand consideration, and in-store spending do not always move in lockstep.

Fast Food’s Next Big Money Maker Might Be Sitting in the Drink Menu

Fast-food chains across the U.S. are putting renewed emphasis on beverages as operators look for higher-margin sales and new ways to bring in customers beyond traditional combo meals. Taco Bell has become one of the clearest examples of that strategy, using a drinks-first format to test whether specialty beverages can become a major standalone business. Industry data and company disclosures show the bet is not just about menu variety, but about finding growth in one of the few parts of restaurant ordering that can still expand even when overall traffic is under pressure.

Taco Bell puts a number on the opportunity

Taco Bell publicly tied its beverage strategy to a long-term sales target on March 4, 2025, when the company said at its Live Más LIVE event that it was “redefining refreshment” with Live Más Café, a beverage-focused concept first opened in San Diego in November 2024. In separate company materials and Yum Brands investor disclosures, Taco Bell said it is working toward $5 billion in beverage sales by 2030, making drinks a stated growth platform rather than a side category.

That strategy has moved beyond a single pilot. Taco Bell has said Live Más Café serves about 30 handcrafted beverages, including chillers, specialty coffees, agua refrescas and dirty-soda style drinks. A later Taco Bell product announcement stated that exclusive cold brew drinks were being offered at participating Live Más Café locations in California, Nevada and Texas, confirming that the company had already spread the concept into multiple states by 2026.

The scale matters because beverage expansion is increasingly being measured like a core menu business. Taco Bell has also used store-level pages to identify Live Más Café units in places including Dallas and Irving, Texas, giving a clearer sign that the chain is testing whether drinks can generate incremental transactions inside a national quick-service footprint.

What the rollout means in Texas and other markets

For Texas customers, the most concrete change is that Taco Bell has already confirmed Live Más Café availability at select locations, including stores in Dallas and Irving. The company’s location materials describe those restaurants as beverage-forward units where staff serve more than 25 handcrafted drinks alongside the regular menu. That gives Texas one of the earliest visible footprints for the concept outside California.

What is not yet public is a full market-by-market rollout plan. Taco Bell has not released a comprehensive list of every Live Más Café location in Texas, California or Nevada, and it has not publicly disclosed a state-by-state count for all beverage-focused units. The available evidence confirms the concept is operating in those three states, but not how many total stores are in each market.

That leaves the local impact uneven but measurable. In confirmed Texas locations, customers can expect an expanded drink lineup beyond fountain sodas and freezes. In markets without a designated Live Más Café unit, Taco Bell has not said whether the same drink assortment will arrive broadly or remain limited to test locations.

Why fast food sees drinks as the next profit center

The larger reason chains are pursuing specialty beverages is margin and traffic. Technomic said in 2025 that beverages typically carry significantly higher profit margins than food items and described the category as one of the most profitable growth opportunities in foodservice. The same firm also said broader restaurant traffic has been pressured by consumer pullbacks, making add-on and beverage-led occasions more important for operators trying to grow sales.

Other industry data points in the same direction. Circana said restaurant traffic dipped 0.3% in 2025, while forecasting beverage-only visits to rise 2.3% by 2028. Technomic also reported U.S. foodservice nonalcohol beverage spending reached $264.1 billion in 2025, with cold beverages driving most of the category’s gains.

For customers, that means drink menus are likely to keep getting larger, more customized and more prominent on fast-food boards. Taco Bell has framed its beverage push as a long-term growth engine tied to younger consumers’ interest in specialty drinks, and industry researchers have said chains increasingly see drinks as a way to differentiate their brands when food traffic is harder to win.

Sick of Oatmeal? These 6 Breakfast Swaps Might Help You Poop Better

Digestive health remains a major nutrition focus in the U.S., where medical guidance continues to emphasize fiber, fluids and regular eating patterns for constipation relief. For people tired of oatmeal, several evidence-backed breakfast alternatives offer similar or complementary benefits. The best-supported swaps are not quick fixes, but foods that major medical and research sources say can help increase stool bulk, soften stool or improve bowel frequency when eaten regularly.

Kiwifruit and prunes have some of the clearest evidence behind them

Among food-based options, kiwifruit and prunes are two of the most studied choices for constipation relief. The National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases says eating enough fiber can help prevent or relieve constipation, and Mayo Clinic identifies prunes as a long-used option for prevention and relief. A 2023 systematic review indexed by PubMed found that fruits, especially kiwifruit, improved stool frequency in adults with chronic constipation.

Randomized trials have added more detail. One clinical trial found that eating two gold kiwifruit daily was at least as effective as a fiber-matched psyllium supplement in adults with constipation, while a larger multicenter trial reported that two green kiwifruits daily improved bowel habits and abdominal comfort. Separate research on prune products has also reported improvements in stool consistency and constipation-related symptoms.

For breakfast, those findings translate into two straightforward swaps: a bowl of Greek yogurt topped with sliced kiwi, or whole-grain toast with a side of prunes and fruit. Neither food works instantly for every person, and the studies were generally conducted over multiple weeks, not a single morning. Still, these are among the most evidence-based non-oatmeal breakfast foods for people trying to improve regularity through diet.

Seeds, yogurt and higher-fiber cereal offer practical non-oatmeal alternatives

A second group of swaps is built around foods that make it easier to raise total daily fiber intake without relying on one bowl of oats. Mayo Clinic says fiber-rich foods include fruits, vegetables, beans and whole grains, and its general nutrition guidance recommends choosing breakfast cereal with at least 5 grams of fiber per serving. Mayo Clinic also notes that flaxseed is commonly used to support digestive health and relieve constipation.

That makes high-fiber bran cereal one practical replacement for oatmeal, especially when paired with fruit. Ground flaxseed can also be stirred into yogurt, smoothies or cereal, adding fiber in a format many people tolerate well. Chia seeds are widely used for the same reason, though the strongest constipation-specific evidence in the source material is for total fiber intake rather than chia alone.

Fermented dairy can also fit into a constipation-conscious breakfast, not because yogurt itself is a major fiber source, but because it pairs well with high-fiber toppings. A yogurt bowl with kiwi, berries and ground flaxseed is one example. In practical terms, three of the six swaps can be grouped here: bran cereal instead of oatmeal, yogurt with fruit and flaxseed, and a smoothie blended with fruit and seeds.

Whole-grain toast, fruit-forward breakfasts and total fiber matter most

The broader message from medical guidance is that the overall pattern matters more than any single “superfood.” NIDDK recommends whole grains as part of an eating pattern that can help relieve constipation, and Mayo Clinic advises increasing fiber gradually while drinking enough fluids. The National Academies’ long-standing intake targets, echoed in later patient guidance from the Department of Veterans Affairs, put daily fiber goals at about 25 grams for women and 38 grams for men.

That is why two more swaps belong on the list: whole-grain toast in place of refined white bread, and a fruit-forward breakfast built around berries, pears or kiwi rather than lower-fiber processed items. Whole-grain bread adds fiber that refined grains remove, while fruit contributes both fiber and water, a useful combination for stool softness and bulk. Mayo Clinic also notes that breakfast itself can help trigger bowel activity in some people.

Taken together, the six non-oatmeal swaps are kiwi, prunes, bran cereal, yogurt with flaxseed and fruit, whole-grain toast, and a fruit-based smoothie or breakfast bowl. None is presented by medical sources as a cure for chronic constipation on its own. But current evidence and clinical guidance support them as realistic breakfast options for people who want more variety while still eating for regularity.